An Unfortunate Rant

In which ideas and fears are bared with regret

Alright, look, I’m not a political expert, nor am I terribly invested in not insulting people, so if you’re commonly triggered by people’s political opinions, then run. Run while you can.

I’m scared, folks. And I’m not just scared of the possibility, however vague, of President Trump. I’m also scared of President Clinton Mk. II. I’m scared of people voting out of fear, ironically. I’m scared of the clusterfuck of a “democratic process” that we’ve seen this year becoming the norm if people are persuaded to look the other way. I’m scared of what the future of American politics will bring if we fail to make the one correct decision.

Nobody in their right mind should vote for Trump unless they’re a rich, racist old white man. And that person is still a dick. I don’t think an argument against Trump requires much more elaboration – his insanity is pretty self-evident.

I do not want Hillary Clinton to be the President of the United States. I do not think she is qualified for the position nor can I count on her to behave in the people’s best interests. Normally when I say something like this, people automatically assume I’m strapping on my swastika armband and declaring my allegiance to Dictator Trump. This is not the case. At the very least, I find armbands uncomfortable. But Clinton has historically low trustworthiness ratings, her campaign committee is shady as hell, she’s slathered in scandals and shadowy, terrifying rumors in equal measure, and for some reason people still want to support her. At the moment she’s been hailed for weeks as the Democratic nominee amidst allegations of voter fraud, for which so much evidence exists, I don’t know how anyone could be okay with allowing proceedings to continue as usual. An enormous amount of people, myself included, even believe she should have been indicted for a failure to uphold her responsibilities as Secretary of State, which would unequivocally preclude anyone else from holding public office, much less POTUS.

Now, if you want more reasons Hillary is unfit for office, I’m not the definitive source. I’m sure you could find everything your little heart desires on Facebook or Reddit or wherever. My next fear is something more insidious and abstract.

I mentioned earlier that whenever I have the audacity to criticize Hillary, people automatically assumed I’ll be voting for Trump. This, in the minds of mainstream media writers and your Facebook friends, is the de facto conclusion for voting outside of the established two-party system. Because tradition is the best reason to do things – just ask women and black people and LGBTetc folks and, again, basically anyone other than white men. For fuck’s sake, if you never learn anything ever again, learn that voting for your chosen candidate is voting for your candidate and absolutely no one else. We do not vote by marking who we don’t want. Your prerogative is to vote for the candidate you believe is best for the job, not, as media and tradition would have you believe, to cast your vote as part of some larger strategy like a goddamn military commander. If everyone finally believed this and acted on it, we could easily elect a third party candidate with the clowns populating our major parties this year. But people won’t. Out of fear.

And that scares me.

At the moment, Bernie is still very much in the race, and therein lies my last little kernel of hope. Any argument for Hillary as an ostensible uniter of the party is unfounded, seeing as Bernie still retains the support of a vast majority of Independents and a huge portion of Democrats, and outperforms Hillary in polls against Trump by an almost comically large margin. We’ve had the chance to elect a politician unsullied by scandals, funded by individuals, who believes in representing the people. And the opportunity is almost gone – if it’s squandered, I have no idea what to do.

And that scares me more than anything else.

I won’t be citing sources here, much to the chagrin of my college professors, because the sources are already all over the place and no one reads this goofy little opinion blog anyway. And I must say, as much as it pains me, I don’t want to debate this. We’re all scared whether we admit it or not and that is not conducive to constructive discussions, in spite of my belief that people should be able to discuss anything peacefully. I can talk through dissenting opinions in art, music, money, people, or what have you without issue, but there’s something different about politics. It warrants some more thought on my part.

But rest assured, I’ll have some posts on art, music, money, people, or what have you very soon. It’s a shame to have come off my blog hiatus with this sort of post.

One thought on “An Unfortunate Rant”

  1. It’s an unfortunate choice, to be sure. I think people vote for a variety of different reasons. Some vote proactively for candidates, some vote to block the opponent. I’ve voted 11 times. It’s been basically an even split between years I voted for someone, and years I voted against someone. I do support some policies held by some of the third party nominees, but I also want to be involved in helping determine who will win. I had friends who were Nader voters in 2000, and I was horrified when the 99k votes he drew in Florida threw the election to Bush. That reinforced my determination to not vote third party unless they had a statistical chance of winning.

    I live in WA, and worked to help make sure Bernie Sanders won here, which he did. I still prefer him over Clinton. But he has conceded, and his opinion is that the most important thing now is to stop Trump, and that the way to do it is to vote for Clinton, warts and all. There are too many areas of policy at stake, plus the Supreme Court, to risk putting it in Trump’s tiny hands. That reasoning alone is good enough for me.

    I’m also aware of the differences in standards Clinton has been held to over the years, because women, like blacks and hispanics, still have to be twice as good to get elected to the boy’s club of national politics. Second wave feminists all had to develop that hard-ass, superwoman demeanor or they got nowhere in the ’70s when she started out. It’s a persona that does not serve her well now, but I don’t believe at age 68 she will be able to drop it. She’s spent too many decades practicing a frozen face to pivot to “likable”.

    There’s a difference between judgment and being qualified. I believe she has shown poor judgment in situations like the leadup to the Iraq war, but so did most of the rest of Congress. I don’t believe she bears any direct responsibility for Benghazi, and her email situation wasn’t dissimilar to that of her predecessors, except that she might have made the emails SAFER by putting them on private servers less likely to be targeted by hackers because they weren’t known to exist. She has done various jobs related to the kind of governing presidents do, and she worked directly under a president. That makes her (by my definition of the word) qualified. I just don’t like her personality or her policy positions as much as Bernie’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

